Hey Blue, I have a Question!
Author: Operations Staff
Hey Blue … I have a question:
If a batter hits ball a few inches in front of home plate, and when the batter drops his bat, it hits the ball, what is the rule?
Local Little League Coach
RE: Local Little League Coach:
According to Rule 6.05 (g), the batter is out when after hitting or bunting a fair ball, the bat hits the ball a second time, in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runner may advance.
If, however, the batter drops the bat, and the ball roles against the bat a second time, and in the umpire's judgment there was no intent to interfere, the ball remains alive. For most instances, we can hang our hat on this statement: Ball initiates second contact, ball is alive and in play. Bat initiates second contact call play dead and batter out, no one advances.
Back To All Umpire News